Marc Almond - The Stars We Are - (2CD/1DVD Capacity Wallet)


In Stock

Marc Almond - The Stars We Are - (2CD/1DVD Capacity Wallet)

This is the first expanded edition re-issue of Marc Almond’s 4th solo album, “The Stars We Are”, since its original release in September 1988. This re-issue is a three disc set that, on its first disc, couples the original 10-track album with its initial release’s CD and cassette only bonus tracks and with the B-Sides of its associated singles. A second CD features all known extended and remix versions of the album tracks. A third disc, a DVD (Region 0, PAL), compiles all six of the promotional videos filmed for the album, including the Tim Pope directed ‘Bitter-Sweet’ and the alternate U.S. version video of ‘Tears Run Rings’ as directed by Peter ‘Sleazy’ Christopherson of Coil and Throbbing Gristle fame.

“The Stars We Are” was the first of two albums recorded for Parlophone and was Marc Almond’s return to a highly infectious and chartable pop. The first single ‘Tears Run Rings’ confirmed the revitalised, unabashed pop that characterised the record and reached #26 on the UK Singles Chart. But it was the third single, ‘Something's Gotten Hold Of My Heart’, a duet with the 1967 hit song’s original singer Gene Pitney that provided the commercial zenith of the album; the single reaching #1 in the UK Singles Chart for 4 consecutive weeks in early 1989.

The album was recorded with an assembled band ‘La Magia’ which comprised of former Willing Sinners members Annie Hogan, Billie McGee and Steve Humphries as a core unit. The album is a shimmering arc of musical textures, compulsive melodrama and euphoric uplift. As well as further singles ‘Bitter-Sweet’ (UK#40) and ‘Only The Moment’ (UK#45), the album contains an homage to goth sensibilities in ‘Your Kisses Burn’, a duet with Nico (her last ever studio recording), as well as an extravagant mini-operetta, ‘Kept Boy’, a duet with cult chanteuse Agnes Bernelle.

Packaged in a mini-LP style capacity wallet, this expanded edition contains sleeve notes from celebrated cult poet and biographer, Jeremy Reed as part of a richly illustrated full colour 36 page lyric booklet.

Track Listing

Disk One: CD

Original Album Plus B-Sides

  1. The Stars We Are
  2. These My Dreams Are Yours
  3. Bitter-Sweet
  4. Only The Moment
  5. Your Kisses Burn (Featuring Special Guest Star Nico)
  6. The Very Last Pearl
  7. Tears Run Rings
  8. Something's Gotten Hold Of My Heart (Featuring Special Guest Star Gene Pitney)
  9. The Sensualist
  10. She Took My Soul In Istanbul
  11. The Frost Comes Tomorrow
  12. Kept Boy (Featuring Special Guest Star Agnes Bernelle
  13. Everything I Wanted Love To Be
  14. King Of The Fools
  15. Real Evil

Disk Two: CD

Alternate Versions

  1. The Stars We Are (Full Length Mix)
  2. Tears Run Rings (12" Version)
  3. Bitter-Sweet (12" Version)
  4. Only The Moment (All The Time In The World Mix)
  5. These My Dreams Are Yours (Through The Night Mix)
  6. Tears Run Rings (Justin Strauss Remix)
  7. Bitter-Sweet (The Big Beat Mix)
  8. The Sensualist (Ultimate Ecstasy Mix)
  9. She Took My Heart In Istanbul
  10. Something's Gotten Hold Of My Heart (Solo Version)

Disk Three: DVD (PAL, Region 0)

Promotional Videos

  1. Tears Run Rings
  2. Bitter-Sweet
  3. Something's Gotten Hold Of My Heart (Featuring Special Guest Star Gene Pitney)
  4. Only The Moment
  5. The Stars We Are
  6. Tears Run Rings (U.S Version)

Format: 2CD/1DVD Album
BarCode: 5013929849525
Catalogue Number: QSFE 085T
Label: Cherry Red Records
Release Date:  Friday, 22nd January 2021

Earn 0 reward points
$0.00 $26.00
Out Of Stock
Add To Wishlist