Marc Almond - The Dancing Marquis - (LP Coloured Vinyl Album) - pre-order [2024-09-27]



Marc Almond - The Dancing Marquis - (LP Coloured Vinyl Album)

In celebration of the 10th Anniversary of its initial release, Marc Almond’s ‘The Dancing Marquis’ album gets its first ever issue on vinyl. Pressed on coloured vinyl with a printed inner bag and a fold out poster.

Including two specially commissioned and highly evocative ‘Stripped Mixes’ of key album tracks ‘Burn Bright’ and ‘Death Of A Dandy’.

Also including one of the original 2014 release’s bonus tracks, the celebrated Starcluster Remix of ‘Worship Me Now!’

In 2013, Marc Almond realised the then ambition of his creative career when he collaborated with legendary producer Tony Visconti (David Bowie, Hazel O'Connor, T-Rex, Morrissey). The evocative results of their unique collaboration can be heard on the opening tracks ‘The Dancing Marquis’ and ‘Burn Bright’.

In collaboration with record producer Tris Penna, Tony Visconti also lends a helping hand with string arrangements and mixing duties on two further tracks; ‘Tasmanian Tiger’ and ‘Death of a Dandy’, the latter lovingly inspired by the tragic and sudden death in 2010 of Soho’s renowned hedonist, the writer and artist Sebastian Horsley.

Continuing in this collaborative vein, ‘The Dancing Marquis’ also features the talents of Martin McCarrick (Siouxsie and the Banshees, Therapy?) contributing cello on the hearteningly buoyant ‘Burn Bright’, and strings on title track ‘The Dancing Marquis’, a song which Marc penned with Henry Paget, the 5th Marquess of Anglesey very much in mind. Jarvis Cocker (Pulp) contributes an infectious electro-pop song that he wrote especially for Marc, ‘Worship Me Now!’ - he also features on backing vocals and production duties in conjunction with Jason Buckle (The All Seeing I).

‘Love Is Not On Trial’ saw Marc once again collaborating with Carl Barât (The Libertines), his co-star in the 2012 opera ‘Poppea’ as performed at Théatre du Châtelet in Paris. Produced again by Tris Penna, the song was written especially for Marc by Carl, who also features on guitar and vocals.

"Marc Almond - The Dancing Marquis" is out Friday, 27th September 2024 on Cherry Red Records and available for pre-order now.

NB: All products ordered with a pre-order will be dispatched together close to the latest pre-order release date. If you want earlier dispatched for another product then please place separate order(s).


Side A

  1. The Dancing Marquis
  2. Burn Bright
  3. Tasmanian Tiger
  4. Worship Me Now! (ft. Jarvis Cocker)
  5. Love Is Not On Trial (ft. Carl Barât)
  6. Death Of A Dandy (ft. Danielz)

Side B

  1. So, What’s Tonight?
  2. Idiot Dancing
  3. Burn Bright (Stripped Mix)*
  4. Death Of A Dandy (Stripped Mix)*
  5. Worship Me Now! (Starcluster Remix)

Format: LP Coloured Vinyl Album
Barcode: 5013929844339
Catalogue Number: SFELP033
Label: Cherry Red Records
Release Date: Friday, 27th September 2024

Earn 0 reward points
$0.00 $32.30
Out Of Stock
Add To Wishlist