Marc Almond - The Dancing Marquis - (2CD Album) - pre-order [2024-09-27]



Marc Almond - The Dancing Marquis - (2CD Album)

To celebrate the tenth anniversary of its original release, Marc Almond’s 18th studio album, ‘The Dancing Marquis’, is re-issued as a limited edition 2xCD set in a specially commissioned capacity wallet sleeve with a fold-out poster/booklet insert.

Disc One contains the original eight unique tracks that made up the album and Disc Two provides over an hour of mostly unreleased reworks, remixes and demos of those songs, giving further insights into the songwriting excellence of this much loved album.

In 2013, Marc Almond realised the then ambition of his creative career when he collaborated with legendary producer Tony Visconti (David Bowie, Hazel O'Connor, T-Rex, Morrissey). The evocative results of their unique collaboration can be heard on the opening tracks ‘The Dancing Marquis’ and ‘Burn Bright’.

In collaboration with record producer Tris Penna, Tony Visconti also lends a helping hand with string arrangements and mixing duties on two further tracks; ‘Tasmanian Tiger’ and ‘Death of a Dandy’, the latter lovingly inspired by the tragic and sudden death in 2010 of Soho’s renowned hedonist, the writer and artist Sebastian Horsley.

Continuing in this collaborative vein, ‘The Dancing Marquis’ also features the talents of Martin McCarrick (Siouxsie and the Banshees, Therapy?) contributing cello on the hearteningly buoyant ‘Burn Bright’, and strings on title track ‘The Dancing Marquis’, a song which Marc penned with Henry Paget, the 5th Marquess of Anglesey very much in mind. Jarvis Cocker (Pulp) contributes an infectious electro-pop number that he wrote especially for Marc, ‘Worship Me Now!’, where he also features as a special guest on backing vocals and production duties in conjunction with Jason Buckle (The All Seeing I).

‘Love Is Not On Trial’ saw Marc once again collaborating with Carl Barât (The Libertines), his co-star in the 2012 opera ‘Poppea’ as performed at Théatre du Châtelet in Paris. Produced again by Tris Penna, the song was written especially for Marc by Carl, who also features on guitar and vocals.

The 15 bonus tracks include three specially commissioned and highly evocative acoustic mixes of key album tracks - the Stripped Mixes of ‘Burn Bright’ and ‘Death Of A Dandy’ and the String Mix of ‘Tasmanian Tiger’ - all three mixes created at Marc Almond’s request by Neal X. Also included are two completely new electro-pop remixes of the tracks ‘Burn Bright’ and ‘Worship Me Now!’ by celebrated remixer Roland Faber (Marc Almond, Boy George, Marcella Detroit), alongside his celebrated remix that was first used as a bonus track on the original 2014 release, ‘Worship Me Now!’ (Starcluster Remix).

A bouquet of tender, expressive and surprisingly emotive original demos, early rough mixes and live versions, as supplied by both Marc Almond and record producer Tris Penna, complete this celebratory expanded anniversary edition.

"Marc Almond - The Dancing Marquis" is out Friday, 27th September 2024 on Cherry Red Records and available for pre-order now.

NB: All products ordered with a pre-order will be dispatched together close to the latest pre-order release date. If you want earlier dispatched for another product then please place separate order(s).


Disc One

  1. The Dancing Marquis
  2. Burn Bright
  3. Tasmanian Tiger
  4. Worship Me Now! (ft. Jarvis Cocker)
  5. Love Is Not On Trial (ft. Carl Barât)
  6. Death Of A Dandy (ft. Danielz)
  7. So, What’s Tonight?
  8. Idiot Dancing

Disc Two

  1. Burn Bright (Stripped Mix)*
  2. Death Of A Dandy (Stripped Mix)*
  3. Tasmanian Tiger (String Mix)*
  4. Worship Me Now! (Starcluster Remix)
  5. Burn Bright (RSF Remix)*
  6. Worship Me Now! (RSF Metropol Remix)*
  7. The Dancing Marquis (Live - Shepherds
  8. Bush Empire 2015)*
  9. Burn Bright (Live - Shepherds Bush Empire 2015)*
  10. Idiot Dancing (Demo 2012)*
  11. Tasmanian Tiger (Edit - Rough Mix 2013)*
  12. Burn Bright (Demo 2013)*
  13. The Dancing Marquis (Demo 2012)*
  14. Idiot Dancing (Rough Mix 2013)*
  15. Death Of A Dandy (Without Strings)*
  16. Tasmanian Tiger (Without Strings)*

* Previously Unreleased

Format: 2CD Album
Barcode: 5013929844346
Catalogue Number: SFE033D
Label: Cherry Red Records
Release Date: Friday, 27th September 2024

Earn 0 reward points
$0.00 $19.38
Out Of Stock
Add To Wishlist