Various Artists - NOW: Yearbook Extra 1982 - (3CD Album)


0 remaining

Various Artists - NOW: Yearbook Extra 1982 - (3CD Album)

Following the recent release of ‘NOW – Yearbook 1982’, we are continuing the celebration of that phenomenal year of pop with ‘Now – Yearbook Extra 1982’; a limited edition 3CD.

62 essential tracks that we couldn’t fit on ‘Yearbook 1982’ include smash hits from The Jam, Soft Cell, Madness, Monsoon, Trio, Simple Minds, Japan, The Stranglers and Dexys Midnight Runners.

1982 saw a huge influx of new synth and pop bands in the charts – with many finding worldwide success complimented by the rise of MTV. Duran Duran cemented their success with the release of their ‘Rio’ album, and its title track is the perfect first track here. ABC, Adam Ant, Spandau Ballet and Culture Club with their Top 3 ‘Time (Clock Of The Heart)’ all follow, as do ABBA with ‘Head Over Heels’, the second single released from ‘The Visitors’ – the last studio album from the band for nearly 40 years. Disc 1 signs off with Captain Sensible’s No. 1 cover of ‘Happy Talk’, and Chas & Dave’s biggest ‘Ain’t No Pleasing You’.

‘Yearbook Extra’ gives us the opportunity to revisit hits that have become legendary over the years, and Disc 2 kicks off with the timeless tour-de-force ‘And I'm Telling You I'm Not Going’ from the musical ‘Dreamgirls’. This is followed by huge soul smashes from Hot Chocolate, Kool & The Gang, Shalamar, and the jazz-funk of Shakatak. The second half of the disc revisits some of the aforementioned synth-pop from Talk Talk, A Flock Of Seagulls, Visage, Roxy Music and the first single, ‘Being Boiled’, from The Human League, re-released in early 1982 after the success of the previous year’s ‘Dare’ and its 4 singles.

Disc 3 brings together some of the biggest names in 1982 new wave with enduring classic singles: The Clash, U2, Echo And The Bunnymen and XTC kick it off, with The Associates, Siouxsie And The Banshees, and The Psychedelic Furs to follow. Charged pop hits from Toyah, Bow Wow Wow, Altered Images, and The Go-Go’s with their era-defining ‘Our Lips Are Sealed’ lead us to power-pop from Pat Benatar, Frida with her solo single ‘I Know There’s Something Going On’, the timeless ‘Jack & Diane’ from John Mellencamp, and concluding with Electric Light Orchestra’s ‘Ticket To The Moon’.

An essential collection for all lovers of 80s pop - and a perfect addition to the ‘Yearbook’ family. ‘NOW – Yearbook Extra 1982’.

Track Listing

CD 1

  1. Duran Duran - Rio
  2. ABC - Poison Arrow
  3. Adam Ant - Friend Or Foe
  4. Spandau Ballet - Lifeline
  5. Haircut 100 - Nobody's Fool
  6. Culture Club - Time (Clock Of The Heart)
  7. Soft Cell - What?
  8. Japan - Life In Tokyo
  9. Blondie - War Child
  10. ABBA - Head Over Heels
  11. Bucks Fizz - Now Those Days Are Gone
  12. Dollar - Give Me Back My Heart
  13. The Kids From "Fame" - Hi-Fidelity
  14. Shalamar - I Can Make You Feel Good
  15. Junior - Mama Used To Say
  16. Paul McCartney - Take It Away
  17. The Maisonettes – Heartache Avenue
  18. Dexys Midnight Runners - Jackie Wilson Said (I'm In Heaven When You Smile)
  19. Madness - Driving In My Car
  20. Captain Sensible - Happy Talk
  21. Chas & Dave - Ain't No Pleasing You

CD 2

  1. Jennifer Holliday - And I'm Telling You I'm Not Going
  2. Hot Chocolate - It Started With A Kiss
  3. Kool & The Gang - Let's Go Dancin' (Ooh La, La, La)
  4. Shalamar - There It Is
  5. Modern Romance feat. John Du Prez - Cherry Pink And Apple Blossom White
  6. Shakatak - Night Birds
  7. Daryl Hall & John Oates - Maneater
  8. Roxy Music - More Than This
  9. Heaven 17 - Let Me Go
  10. Simple Minds - Glittering Prize
  11. Talk Talk - Today
  12. China Crisis - African And White
  13. A Flock Of Seagulls - I Ran (So Far Away)
  14. Blue Zoo - Cry Boy Cry
  15. Thompson Twins - Lies
  16. Classix Nouveaux - Is It A Dream
  17. Visage - Night Train
  18. Trio - Da Da Da I Don't Love You You Don't Love Me Aha Aha Aha
  19. The Human League - Being Boiled
  20. Japan - Nightporter

CD 3

  1. The Clash - Should I Stay Or Should I Go
  2. U2 - A Celebration
  3. Echo And The Bunnymen - Back Of Love
  4. XTC - Senses Working Overtime
  5. The Jam - The Bitterest Pill (I Ever Had To Swallow)
  6. The Stranglers - Strange Little Girl
  7. Mobiles - Drowning In Berlin
  8. David Sylvian & Ryuichi Sakamoto - Bamboo Music
  9. The Psychedelic Furs - Love My Way
  10. The Associates - Club Country
  11. Siouxsie And The Banshees - Slowdive
  12. Altered Images - Pinky Blue
  13. Toyah – Be Proud, Be Loud (Be Heard)
  14. The Belle Stars - The Clapping Song
  15. Monsoon - Ever So Lonely
  16. Bow Wow Wow - I Want Candy
  17. The Go-Go's - Our Lips Are Sealed
  18. Frida - I Know There's Something Going On
  19. Pat Benatar - Shadows Of The Night
  20. John Mellencamp - Jack & Diane
  21. Electric Light Orchestra - Ticket To The Moon

Format: 3CD Album
Barcode: 0194399545720
Catalogue Number: CDYBENOW82
Label: Universal Music
Release Date: Friday, 29th April 2022

Earn 0 reward points
£0.00 £12.00
Out Of Stock
Add To Wishlist