Various Artists - NOW: Yearbook Extra 1979 - (3CD Album) - pre-order [2022-10-21]



Various Artists - NOW: Yearbook Extra 1979 - (3CD Album)

NOW Music is thrilled to present more stellar tracks from the year with ‘NOW – Yearbook Extra 1979’.

This limited edition 3CD highlights an additional 67 tracks from the charts of 1979, making it the perfect complement to any Yearbook, 70s pop or NOW music collection.

Queen kicks the collection off with their huge hit ‘Crazy Little Thing Called Love’ and are followed by the #1 ‘Message In A Bottle’ from The Police and the classic ‘Union City Blue’ from Blondie. New wave hits from Pretenders, Roxy Music, Squeeze, The Boomtown Rats, and Ian Dury & The Blockheads are included, alongside Electric Light Orchestra and the live single version of ‘Them Heavy People’ from Kate Bush. A fabulous run of disco is up next including the synth-driven production of Sparks’ ‘The Number One Song In Heaven’, soulful vocals from Donna Summer, the timeless Chic and Sister Sledge, and Rose Royce’s ‘Is It Love You’re After’ – before the first disc closes with one of the years’ most unexpected hits from Fiddler’s Dram with ‘Daytrip To Bangor’.

1979 was incredibly rich for classic hit singles, and CD2 opens with a breath-taking sequence of punk and new wave classics including ‘The Sound Of The Suburbs’ from The Members, ‘Babylon’s Burning’ from The Ruts along with The Jam, The Clash, The Stranglers, Siouxsie And The Banshees and Sex Pistols. Early releases from some of the next decades’ most influential artists – Japan, Orchestral Manoeuvres In The Dark, and The Tourists featuring Annie Lennox and Dave Stewart – are included, and the disc finishes with soul-inflected dancefloor gold from Shalamar, Edwin Starr, Diana Ross and Cher.

The final disc opens with the sublime pop of the #1 ‘Sunday Girl’ from Blondie and ‘Painter Man’ from Boney M. before showcasing some of 1979’s most beautiful ballads, including ‘Sail On’ from Commodores, ‘After The Love Has Gone’ from Earth, Wind & Fire and ‘Just The Way You Are’ from Barry White – plus that song’s writer Billy Joel, with ‘Honesty’, and the poignant ‘The Ballad Of Lucy Jordan’ from Marianne Faithfull. Radio friendly rock-pop from Toto, Thin Lizzy and Status Quo lead into some of the years’ quirkier hits from Driver 67, BA Robertson and Cats U.K. More pure pop from Dollar and Sally Oldfield, before concluding with the #1 ‘One Day At A Time’ from Lena Martell – and a true Christmas classic ‘Wonderful Christmastime’ from Paul McCartney.

NOW – Yearbook Extra 1979; 67 further reasons to celebrate this stellar year in pop.

"Various Artists - NOW: Yearbook Extra 1979" is out Friday, 21st October 2022 on Universal Music and available for pre-order now.

NB: All products ordered with a pre-order will be dispatched together close to the latest pre-order release date. If you want earlier dispatched for another product then please place separate order(s).



  1. Queen - Crazy Little Thing Called Love
  2. The Police - Message In A Bottle
  3. Blondie - Union City Blue
  4. Pretenders - Kid
  5. Electric Light Orchestra - Last Train To London
  6. Roxy Music - Angel Eyes
  7. Kate Bush - Them Heavy People
  8. Squeeze - Up The Junction
  9. The Boomtown Rats - Diamond Smiles
  10. Ian Dury & The Blockheads - Reasons To Be Cheerful (Pt. 3)
  11. Sparks - The Number One Song In Heaven
  12. The Three Degrees - The Runner
  13. Donna Summer - Dim All The Lights
  14. Sister Sledge - Lost In Music
  15. Chic - My Feet Keep Dancing
  16. Rose Royce - Is It Love You're After
  17. Boney M. - Gotta Go Home
  18. Voyage – Lets Fly Away
  19. Madness - The Prince
  20. Darts - Duke Of Earl
  21. Mike Oldfield - Blue Peter
  22. Fiddler’s Dram - Daytrip To Bangor (Didn't We Have A Lovely Time)


  1. The Members - The Sound Of The Suburbs
  2. The Ruts - Babylon's Burning
  3. The Jam - Strange Town
  4. The Clash - English Civil War
  5. The Stranglers - Duchess
  6. Siouxsie And The Banshees - Playground Twist
  7. Public Image Limited - Death Disco
  8. Skids - Working For The Yankee Dollar
  9. The Undertones - Jimmy Jimmy
  10. Sex Pistols - C'Mon Everybody
  11. Dr. Feelgood - Milk And Alcohol
  12. The Dickies - Banana Splits
  13. Secret Affair - Time For Action
  14. Jags - Back Of My Hand
  15. The Tourists - The Loneliest Man In The World
  16. Japan - Life In Tokyo
  17. Orchestral Manoeuvres In The Dark - Electricity
  18. Shalamar - Take That To The Bank
  19. Dan Hartman - This Is It
  20. Edwin Starr - H.A.P.P.Y. Radio
  21. The Isley Brothers - It's A Disco Night (Rock Don't Stop)
  22. Chic - My Forbidden Lover
  23. Diana Ross - The Boss
  24. Cher - Take Me Home


  1. Blondie - Sunday Girl
  2. Boney M. - Painter Man
  3. The Three Degrees - My Simple Heart
  4. Commodores - Sail On
  5. Earth, Wind & Fire - After The Love Has Gone
  6. Barry White - Just The Way You Are
  7. Billy Joel – Honesty
  8. Marianne Faithfull - The Ballad Of Lucy Jordan
  9. Gerry Rafferty - Get It Right Next Time
  10. Toto - Hold the Line
  11. Status Quo - Whatever You Want
  12. Thin Lizzy - Waiting For An Alibi
  13. Driver 67 - Car 67
  14. BA Robertson - Knocked It Off
  15. Cats U.K. - Luton Airport
  16. Racey - Some Girls
  17. Darts - Get It
  18. Dollar – Who Were You With In The Moonlight
  19. Sally Oldfield - Mirrors
  20. Lena Martell - One Day At A Time
  21. Paul McCartney - Wonderful Christmastime

Format: 3CD Album
Barcode: 0196587511128
Catalogue Number: CDYBENOW79
Label: Universal Music
Release Date: Friday, 21st October 2022

Earn 0 reward points
£0.00 £12.00
Out Of Stock
Add To Wishlist