Various Artists - NOW Yearbook 1993 - (Special Edition 4CD Album) - pre-order [2024-06-28]



Various Artists - NOW Yearbook 1993 - (Special Edition 4CD Album)

NOW is proud to present the next instalment in our ongoing ‘Yearbook’ series – and takes a look back 31 years ago – with 78 tracks on 4 CDs, to celebrate a stellar year of Pop singles… NOW – Yearbook 1993. Available as this Special Edition CD housed in ‘hard-back-book’ packaging, including a 28-page booklet featuring a summary of the year, a track-by-track guide, a quiz, and original singles artwork.

Opening with a posthumous #1 for Freddie Mercury with the remix of ‘Living On My Own’, before the first of two tracks included on this ‘Yearbook’ from Pet Shop Boys taken from their classic 1993 album ‘Very’, ‘Can You Forgive Her?’. New Order returned to the Top 5 with ‘Regret’, and R.E.M. had a string of hits including ‘The Sidewinder Sleeps Tonite’. One of the highlights of 1993 was the Chart renaissance of Duran Duran – and ‘Come Undone’ features next (with another to come on Disc Four). Take That had their first #1 with ‘Pray’, Ace Of Base scored a global smash with ‘All That She Wants’, and a-ha were back in the Top 20, plus Whitney Houston and Lisa Stansfield had huge singles from the soundtrack of ‘The Bodyguard’ and the collaboration between West End feat. Sybil produced a massive floor-filler. Long established superstars enjoyed huge success in 1993 including Billy Joel, Annie Lennox, Sade and Sting, who closes the first disc with his timeless ‘Fields Of Gold’.

Disc Two opens with two of the year’s newer charting bands: Radiohead with ‘Creep’, and Suede with ‘So Young’ – both destined to become an essential part of the fabric of the decades’ Charts. Paul Weller returned with ‘Wild Wood’, and Paul McCartney was back in the Top 20 with ‘Hope Of Deliverance’. A popular tv-ad propelled The Bluebells to #1 with ‘Young At Heart’, 9 years after its first release. M People and Dina Carroll both had hugely successful Pop-Dance albums containing a number of big hit singles, and Pop-Trance crossover hits are featured from Cappella, Urban Cookie Collective, and Utah Saints along with big club tracks from D:Ream, Leftfield, The Beloved and Jamiroquai – who were celebrating their first (of many) Top 10 singles. The disc closes with 3 of the years’ Reggae smashes including #1s from Shaggy with ‘Oh Carolina’ and UB40 with their cover of ‘(I Can’t Help) Falling In Love With You’.

The big come-back star of the year was Meat Loaf: ‘I’d Do Anything For Love…’ spent 7 weeks at #1 and was 1993’s best-selling single, and is joined on Disc 3 by Rock royalty, Bon Jovi, and Lenny Kravitz. A great run of Alt-Rock/Pop follows from Manic Street Preachers, Spin Doctors, Crowded House, The Cranberries and the massive ‘What’s Up?’ from 4 Non Blondes. Soul and R&B smashes are featured next and include huge hits from Arrested Development, SWV, Shara Nelson and the #1 debut ‘Dreams’ from Gabrielle. The disc winds down with some of the years’ most soulful ballads including ‘Delicate’, ‘Now I Know What Made Otis Blue’ and finishing with ‘In Your Care’ from Tasmin Archer.

The final disc is all about anthemic Pop! – and kicks off with defining tracks from Duran Duran with the sublime ‘Ordinary World’, and Pet Shop Boys with their superb cover of ‘Go West’. The #1 collaboration between Take That and Lulu is followed by dance-floor gold from Robin S, SNAP! feat. Niki Harris, Haddaway, and RuPaul. Pop legends are lined up on Disc 4 including Bananarama, Kim Wilde, Deborah Harry and Gloria Estefan ahead of enduring artists Orchestral Manoeuvres In The Dark, Go West and Tears For Fears, and love songs from Lisa Stansfield and Dina Carroll lead to a sign-off from Elton John and Kiki Dee with their version of ‘True Love’, which was a Top 3 single through the Christmas period.

NOW – Yearbook 1993 – A celebration of the diversity and wonderful creativity of a truly magnificent year in Pop.

"Various Artists - NOW Yearbook 1993" is out Friday, 28th June 2024 on NOW and available for pre-order now.

NB: All products ordered with a pre-order will be dispatched together close to the latest pre-order release date. If you want earlier dispatched for another product then please place separate order(s).



  1. Freddie Mercury - Living On My Own
  2. Pet Shop Boys - Can You Forgive Her?
  3. New Order - Regret
  4. R.E.M. - The Sidewinder Sleeps Tonite
  5. Duran Duran - Come Undone
  6. Annie Lennox - Love Song For A Vampire (From Bram Stoker's "Dracula")
  7. a-ha - Dark Is The Night For All
  8. Take That - Pray
  9. East 17 - Deep
  10. Ace Of Base - All That She Wants
  11. West End feat. Sybil - The Love I Lost
  12. Whitney Houston - I'm Every Woman
  13. Lisa Stansfield - Someday (I'm Coming Back)
  14. Billy Joel - The River Of Dreams
  15. Belinda Carlisle - Big Scary Animal
  16. Roxette - Almost Unreal
  17. Tina Turner - I Don't Wanna Fight
  18. Sade - Cherish The Day
  19. Sting - Fields Of Gold


  1. Radiohead - Creep
  2. Suede - So Young
  3. Paul Weller - Wild Wood
  4. Paul McCartney - Hope Of Deliverance
  5. The Bluebells - Young At Heart
  6. Sonia - Better The Devil You Know
  7. Dina Carroll - Express
  8. M People - Moving On Up
  9. Cappella - U Got 2 Let The Music
  10. Urban Cookie Collective - The Key, The Secret
  11. U.S.U.R.A. - Open Your Mind
  12. Utah Saints - Believe In Me
  13. D:Ream – Unforgiven
  14. Leftfield - Open Up
  15. Stereo MC's - Step It Up
  16. The Beloved – Sweet Harmony
  17. Sunscreem - Broken English
  18. Jamiroquai - Too Young To Die
  19. Chaka Demus and Pliers - Tease Me
  20. Shaggy - Oh Carolina
  21. UB40 - (I Can't Help) Falling In Love With You


  1. Meat Loaf - I'd Do Anything For Love (But I Won't Do That)
  2. Bon Jovi - In These Arms
  3. Lenny Kravitz - Are You Gonna Go My Way
  4. Manic Street Preachers - From Despair To Where
  5. Spin Doctors - Two Princes
  6. Soul Asylum - Runaway Train
  7. Ugly Kid Joe - Cats In The Cradle
  8. Crowded House - Distant Sun
  9. The Cranberries - Linger
  10. 4 Non Blondes - What's Up?
  11. Eternal - Stay
  12. SWV - Right Here
  13. Salt-N-Pepa - Shoop
  14. Arrested Development - Mr. Wendal
  15. Shara Nelson - Down That Road
  16. Gabrielle - Dreams
  17. Sananda Maitreya feat. Des'Ree - Delicate
  18. Paul Young - Now I Know What Made Otis Blue
  19. Tasmin Archer - In Your Care


  1. Duran Duran - Ordinary World
  2. Pet Shop Boys - Go West
  3. Take That feat. Lulu - Relight My Fire
  4. M People - One Night In Heaven
  5. Robin S - Show Me Love
  6. RuPaul - Supermodel (You Better Work)
  7. SNAP! feat. Niki Haris - Exterminate
  8. Haddaway -What Is Love
  9. Bananarama - More, More, More
  10. Sister Sledge - Lost In Music (Sure Is Pure Remix Edit)
  11. Kim Wilde - If I Can't Have You
  12. Gloria Estefan - Go Away
  13. Deborah Harry - I Can See Clearly
  14. Orchestral Manoeuvres In The Dark - Stand Above Me
  15. Tears For Fears - Break It Down Again
  16. Go West - What You Won't Do For Love
  17. Lisa Stansfield - In All The Right Places
  18. Dina Carroll - Don't Be A Stranger
  19. Elton John and Kiki Dee - True Love

Format: Special Edition 4CD Album
Barcode: 0196588893421
Catalogue Number: CDYBXNOW93
Label: NOW
Release Date: Friday, 28th June 2024

Earn 0 reward points
$0.00 $20.25
Out Of Stock
Add To Wishlist