Various Artists - NOW: Yearbook 1988 - (Special Edition 4CD Booklet Album)


In Stock

Various Artists - NOW: Yearbook 1988 - (Special Edition 4CD Booklet Album)

NOW is proud to present the next instalment in our ongoing ‘Yearbook’ series – NOW – Yearbook 1988 with 82 tracks across 4CDs, celebrating this eclectic year in Pop.

CD 1 opens with George Michael’s stellar smash ‘Father Figure’, followed by huge hits from Kim Wilde, Belinda Carlisle, Duran Duran, and Eurythmics. A top year for Synth-driven Pop magic is showcased in the next run of hits, including the #1 from Pet Shop Boys (‘Heart’), New Order’s revisited ‘Blue Monday ‘88’, a-ha’s ‘Stay On These Roads’, and Yello’s smash ‘The Race’. Aztec Camera’s ‘Somewhere In My Heart’ leads into timeless radio-friendly Pop from Danny Wilson, The Communards, and Scritti Politti, and includes debut successes for Fairground Attraction and Tanita Tikaram. Reggae-Pop from UB40 & Chrissie Hynde and a gorgeous cover from Everything But The Girl (‘I Don’t Want To Talk About It’) prelude two of the year’s most sophisticated tracks from Sade and Sting.

CD 2 kicks off with a stunning line up of pure Pop gold from Kylie Minogue with her debut ‘I Should Be So Lucky’, along with Bananarama, Rick Astley, Jason Donovan, Bros and The Timelords. Huge Dance tunes follow, including the #1s from S'Express (‘Theme From S-Express’), and Yazz & The Plastic Population (‘The Only Way Is Up’), and floor-fillers from Inner City and Womack & Womack, plus U.S. Power Pop from Jane Wiedlin, The Beach Boys, The Bangles, and a huge ballad from Gloria Estefan and Miami Sound Machine, before the disc comes to a close with one of Elton John’s most loved classics; ‘Candle In The Wind’ - a hit again in 1988 as a live recording.

Established chart greats and Rock legends returned to the charts in ’88; Bruce Springsteen, Cher, Bon Jovi, Iron Maiden, Billy Idol, and Siouxsie And The Banshees, with their peerless ‘Peek-A-Boo’, are all featured on CD 3, plus the introductory hit ‘Mandinka’ from Sinéad O’Connor. Up next are Pop-Reggae favourites from Maxi Priest (‘Wild World’) and Aswad (‘Don’t Turn Around’), followed by exceptional soulful vocals from Will Downing with ‘A Love Supreme’ and Mica Paris’ ‘My One Temptation’, before Whitney Houston closes with her #1 ‘One Moment In Time’.

Pet Shop Boys, Kylie Minogue, Kim Wilde, and Bananarama make their second appearance on CD 4, as well as the Pet Shop Boys-produced smash for Eighth Wonder ‘I’m Not Scared’, together with Desireless’ worldwide hit ‘Voyage Voyage’, Hazell Dean’s Hi-NRG cover of ‘Who's Leaving Who’, infectious Pop from Dollar and Transvision Vamp, rap from Wee Papa Girl Rappers, and Salt-N-Pepa’s ‘Push It’ – which sounds just as fresh today as it did in ’88 . Wet Wet Wet’s chart-topping cover of The Beatles’ ‘With A Little Help From My Friends’, follows, and successful chart debuts are celebrated here with Sabrina’s ‘Boys (Summertime Love)’, Taylor Dayne’s floor-filler ‘Tell It To My Heart’, Debbie Gibson’s ‘Only In My Dreams’, and not forgetting Tiffany topping the chart with her first UK single aged 16 with ‘I Think We're Alone Now’. The Yearbook closes with two massive hits: Angry Anderson’s anthemic ‘Suddenly’, which soundtracked the tv wedding of the year on ‘Neighbours’, and Cliff Richard’s Christmas #1, ‘Mistletoe And Wine’.

NOW – Yearbook 1988 – the perfect addition to every music collection - a celebration of the diversity and wonderful creativity of a truly stellar year in Pop. Available as a Special Edition CD housed in ‘hard-back-book’ packaging, including a 28-page booklet featuring a summary of the year, a track-by-track guide, a quiz, and original singles artwork, and as a standard 4CD package.


CD 1

  1. George Michael - Father Figure
  2. Belinda Carlisle – Heaven Is A Place On Earth
  3. Kim Wilde - You Came
  4. Duran Duran - I Don't Want Your Love
  5. Eurythmics, Annie Lennox, Dave Stewart - You Have Placed A Chill In My Heart
  6. Pet Shop Boys - Heart
  7. New Order - Blue Monday '88
  8. Yello - The Race
  9. a-ha - Stay On These Roads
  10. The Adventures - Broken Land
  11. Aztec Camera - Somewhere In My Heart
  12. Tanita Tikaram - Good Tradition
  13. Fairground Attraction - Perfect
  14. Danny Wilson - Mary's Prayer
  15. The Communards - There’s More To Love (Than Boy Meets Girl)
  16. Scritti Politti - Oh Patti (Don't Feel Sorry For Loverboy)
  17. UB40 & Chrissie Hynde - Breakfast In Bed
  18. Everything But The Girl – I Don’t Want To Talk About It
  19. Sade - Love Is Stronger Than Pride
  20. Sting – Fragile

CD 2

  1. Kylie Minogue - I Should Be So Lucky
  2. Bananarama - I Want You Back
  3. Rick Astley - Together Forever
  4. Jason Donovan - Nothing Can Divide Us
  5. Brother Beyond - The Harder I Try
  6. Bros - I Owe You Nothing
  7. The Timelords – Doctorin’ The Tardis
  8. Bomb The Bass - Beat Dis
  9. Yazz & The Plastic Population - The Only Way Is Up
  10. S'Express - Theme From S-Express
  11. Inner City - Good Life
  12. Womack & Womack - Teardrops
  13. Climie Fisher - Love Changes (Everything)
  14. Breathe - Hands To Heaven
  15. Glenn Medeiros - Nothing's Gonna Change My Love For You
  16. The Beach Boys - Kokomo
  17. Belinda Carlisle – Circle In The Sand
  18. Jane Wiedlin - Rush Hour
  19. The Bangles - Hazy Shade Of Winter
  20. Gloria Estefan / Miami Sound Machine - Anything For You
  21. Elton John - Candle In The Wind (Live)

CD 3

  1. Bruce Springsteen - Tougher Than The Rest
  2. Deacon Blue - Real Gone Kid
  3. Bon Jovi - Bad Medicine
  4. Iron Maiden - Can I Play With Madness
  5. Pat Benatar - All Fired Up
  6. Billy Idol - Hot In The City
  7. Sinéad O'Connor – Mandinka
  8. Siouxsie And The Banshees - Peek-A-Boo
  9. The Mission - Tower Of Strength
  10. All About Eve – Martha’s Harbour
  11. Cher - I Found Someone
  12. Heart - These Dreams
  13. Robin Beck - First Time
  14. Maxi Priest - Wild World
  15. Aswad - Don't Turn Around
  16. Will Downing - A Love Supreme
  17. Mica Paris - My One Temptation
  18. Sananda Maitreya - Sign Your Name
  19. Brenda Russell - Piano In The Dark
  20. Whitney Houston - One Moment In Time

CD 4

  1. Pet Shop Boys - Left To My Own Devices
  2. Eighth Wonder - I'm Not Scared
  3. Dollar - O L'Amour
  4. Desireless – Voyage Voyage
  5. Sabrina - Boys (Summertime Love)
  6. Hazell Dean - Who's Leaving Who
  7. Kylie Minogue - The Loco-Motion
  8. Debbie Gibson - Only In My Dreams
  9. Tiffany - I Think We're Alone Now
  10. Kim Wilde - Never Trust A Stranger
  11. Transvision Vamp - I Want Your Love
  12. Bros - When Will I Be Famous?
  13. Wet Wet Wet - With A Little Help From My Friends
  14. Wee Papa Girl Rappers - Wee Rule
  15. Salt-N-Pepa - Push It
  16. Pebbles - Girlfriend
  17. Natalie Cole - Pink Cadillac
  18. Taylor Dayne - Tell It To My Heart
  19. Bananarama - Love, Truth & Honesty
  20. Angry Anderson – Suddenly (7” Mix)
  21. Cliff Richard - Mistletoe And Win

Format: Special Edition 4CD Booklet Album
Barcode: 0196588271922
Catalogue Number: CDYBXNOW88
Label: NOW
Release Date: Friday, 3rd November 2023

Earn 0 reward points
$0.00 $20.80
Out Of Stock
Add To Wishlist