Various Artists - NOW: Yearbook 1982 - (Special Edition 4CD Album)


0 remaining

Various Artists - NOW: Yearbook 1982 - (Special Edition 4CD Album)

NOW Music is proud to present the newest addition to the ‘Yearbook’ series: NOW – YEARBOOK 1982. 4 CDs of 84 defining tracks that ruled the charts in 1982. This special edition CD is housed in ‘hard-back book’ packaging, including a booklet with a summary of the year, a track-by-track guide, a quiz, and original singles artwork.

Featuring 16 of the year’s number 1s, including ‘Eye Of The Tiger’ (Survivor), ‘Ebony And Ivory’ (Paul McCartney), ‘House Of Fun’ (Madness), ‘Town Called Malice’ (The Jam), ‘Pass The Dutchie’ (Musical Youth), and 1982’s biggest seller ‘Come On Eileen’ from Dexys Midnight Runners.

1982 saw the first huge hits from a wealth of new artists including Culture Club, Wham! and Tears For Fears, as well as an incredible line-up from artists who had established their chart presence in the prior 18 months and would produce some of the greatest tracks of the decade; Duran Duran, Spandau Ballet, ABC, Haircut 100, Soft Cell, The Human League, and a newly solo Adam Ant.

‘Fame’ was the TV phenomenon of the year, and its cast, ‘The Kids From “Fame”’, along with Irene Cara’s theme from the original 1980 film, enjoyed massive success.

As ABBA released their last singles for nearly 40 years, pure-pop from Bucks Fizz, Dollar, Tight Fit, Modern Romance and Kim Wilde is celebrated alongside synth-pop gems from New, Order, Simple Minds, Visage and Japan.

Leading artists from the punk scene enjoyed continued and renewed success, including The Stranglers, The Clash and Pretenders, whilst Foreigner, Meat Loaf with Cher, and Steve Miller Band provided radio-favourite rock and power ballads.

1982 saw a huge chart presence for dance music – from the hi-NRG of Boys Town Gang and Sylvester, to the electro-infused beats of Malcolm McLaren, and Rockers Revenge, the 1980’s disco of Shalamar, Kool & The Gang and Imagination alongside soul classics from Marvin Gaye, Fat Larry’s Band, Donna Summer, and a return to the charts for Dionne Warwick. Plus, stellar ballads from Elton John, Lionel Richie, and Roxy Music.

NOW – Yearbook 1982; a celebration of the eclectic brilliance of the year in pop.

Track Listing

CD 1

  1. Wham! - Young Guns (Go For It!)
  2. Adam Ant - Goody Two Shoes
  3. ABC - The Look Of Love - Pt. 1
  4. Duran Duran - Hungry Like The Wolf
  5. Spandau Ballet - Instinction
  6. Haircut 100 - Love Plus One
  7. Culture Club - Do You Really Want To Hurt Me
  8. ABBA - Under Attack
  9. Bucks Fizz - The Land Of Make Believe
  10. Tight Fit - Fantasy Island
  11. Dollar – Videotheque
  12. Madness - House Of Fun
  13. Dexys Midnight Runners - Come On Eileen
  14. The Jam - Town Called Malice
  15. Bow Wow Wow - Go Wild In The Country
  16. Fun Boy Three feat. Bananarama - It Ain't What You Do It's The Way That You Do It
  17. Musical Youth - Pass The Dutchie
  18. Fat Larry’s Band – Zoom
  19. Dionne Warwick – Heartbreaker
  20. Lionel Richie – Truly
  21. Marvin Gaye - Sexual Healing
  22. Donna Summer - State Of Independence

CD 2

  1. Paul McCartney – Ebony And Ivory
  2. Irene Cara – Fame
  3. Shalamar – A Night To Remember
  4. Odyssey – Inside Out
  5. Evelyn “Champagne” King – Love Come Down
  6. Kool & The Gang – Get Down On It
  7. Carly Simon – Why
  8. Malcolm McLaren, The World’s Famous Supreme Team – Buffalo Gals
  9. Rockers Revenge feat. Donnie Calvin - Walking On Sunshine
  10. Boys Town Gang – Can’t Take My Eyes Off You
  11. Patrick Cowley feat. Sylvester – Do You Wanna Funk
  12. Imagination – Just An Illusion
  13. Soft Cell – Torch
  14. Tears For Fears – Mad World
  15. The Human League – Mirror Man
  16. A Flock Of Seagulls – Wishing (If I Had A Photograph Of You)
  17. Visage – The Damned Don’t Cry
  18. Simple Minds – Promise You A Miracle
  19. Utravox – Reap The Wild Wind
  20. Orchestral Manoeuvers In The Dark – Maid Of Orleans (The Waltz Joan Of Arc)
  21. Japan – Ghosts

CD 3

  1. Survivor - Eye Of The Tiger
  2. Meat Loaf with Cher - Dead Ringer For Love
  3. The J. Geils Band – Centerfold
  4. Steve Miller Band – Abracadabra
  5. Pretenders - Back On The Chain Gang
  6. Daryl Hall & John Oates - I Can't Go For That (No Can Do)
  7. Christopher Cross - Arthur's Theme (Best That You Can Do)
  8. Chicago - Hard To Say I'm Sorry
  9. Foreigner - Waiting For A Girl Like You
  10. Roxy Music – Avalon
  11. The Stranglers - Golden Brown
  12. Siouxsie And The Banshees – Fireworks
  13. The Clash - Rock The Casbah
  14. The Jam - Beat Surrender
  15. Madness - Our House
  16. Toyah – Brave New World
  17. Altered Images - See Those Eyes
  18. Haysi Fantayzee - John Wayne Is Big Leggy
  19. The Associates - Party Fears Two
  20. New Order – Temptation

CD 4

  1. ABBA – The Day Before You Came
  2. Elton John – Blue Eyes
  3. Duran Duran – Save A Prayer
  4. ABC – All Of My Heart
  5. The Kids From “Fame” – Starmaker
  6. Bucks Fizz- My Camera Never Lies
  7. Dollar – Mirror Mirror
  8. Bardo – One Step Further
  9. Kim Wilde – View From A Bridge
  10. Haircut 100 – Fantastic Day
  11. Modern Romance – Best Years Of Our Lives
  12. Blondie – Island Of Lost Souls
  13. Tight Fit – The Island Sleeps Tonight
  14. Shakin’ Stevens – Oh Julie
  15. Mari Wilson – Just What I Always Wanted
  16. Nicole – A Little Peace
  17. Charlene – I’ve Never Been To Me
  18. Clannad – Theme From Harry’s Game
  19. Ph.D. – I Won’t Let You Down
  20. Japan – I Second That Emotion
  21. Soft Cell – Say Hello, Wave Goodbye

Format: Special Edition 4CD Album
Barcode: 0194399460429
Catalogue Number: CDYBXNOW82
Label: Universal Music
Release Date: Friday, 4th February 2022

Earn 0 reward points
£0.00 £12.00
Out Of Stock
Add To Wishlist