Toyah - Sheep Farming In Barnet - (2CD/1DVD Expanded Deluxe Edition)


0 remaining

Toyah - Sheep Farming In Barnet - (2CD/1DVD Expanded Deluxe Edition)

Cherry Red Records is delighted to announce the long-awaited newly remastered and expanded deluxe release of Toyah’s debut album “Sheep Farming In Barnet” which kickstarts a reissue programme of Toyah’s entire Safari Records catalogue.

Produced by Steve James and Keith Hale (Blood Donor), the album reached number 1 on the UK Independent Albums in February 1980 and celebrates its fortieth anniversary in 2020.

The 7” single ‘Victims Of The Riddle’ (1979) was Toyah’s very first release and is included here. This was followed up by 6-track mini-album “Sheep Farming In Barnet” that contained three tracks per-side on a 33 1/3 playing 7” vinyl. This mini-album was then expanded to a full length 11-track album (originally for the German market) in early 1980 by adding the ‘Victims’ 7” A-Side/B-Sides and some further tracks also recorded at Chappell Studios, London.

This album contains the fan favourites ‘Race Through Space’, ‘Neon Womb’ and ‘Danced’, all of which went on to become signature songs for the band. Non-album Double A-Side single ‘Bird In Flight’/’Tribal Look’ produced by The Boys’ lead singer Matt Dangerfield is also included.

Track Listing

Disc One: CD

  1. Neon Womb
  2. Indecision
  3. Waiting
  4. Computer
  5. Victims Of The Riddle
  6. Elusive Stranger
  7. Our Move
  8. Danced
  9. Last Goodbye
  10. Victims Of the Riddle (Vivisection)
  11. Race Through Space
  12. Gaoler
  13. Bird In Flight
  14. Tribal Look
  15. Love Me (Dangerfield Session)*
  16. Tribal Look (Alternate Mix)*
  17. Our Move (Shoestring Version)*
  18. Waiting (Shoestring Version)*
  19. Neon Womb (Shoestring Version)*
  20. Danced (Shoestring Version)*

Disk Two: CD

  1. Computers (Demo)*
  2. Little Boy (Demo)*
  3. Close Encounters (Demo)*
  4. Watch Me Sane (Demo)*
  5. Jailer (Demo)*
  6. Race Through Space (Demo)*
  7. Elusive Stranger (Demo)*
  8. Problem Child (Demo)
  9. Israel (Demo)
  10. Christmas Carol (Demo)
  11. Race Through Space (Alternate Mix)*
  12. Neon Womb (No Saxophone)*
  13. Our Move (Alternate Mix)*
  14. Waiting (Alternate Vocal Mix)*
  15. Indecision (Alternate Vocal Mix)*
  16. Computer (Alternate Vocal Mix)*
  17. Vivisection (Improvisation)*
  18. Love Me (Demo)
  19. Tribal Look (Demo)
  20. Guilty (Demo)
  21. Three-Sided Face (Demo)

* Previously Unreleased

Disc Three: DVD

  1. The Story Behind The Album: 2020 Interview
  2. Track-By-Track Album Commentary: 2020 Interview
  3. Computer: Acoustic Session 2020
  4. Neon Womb: Acoustic Session 2020
  5. Bird In Flight: Acoustic Session 2020
  6. Race Through Space: What's On 12/04/1979
  7. Toyah Interview: What's On 19/04/1979
  8. Danced: The Old Grey Whistle Test 04/03/1980
  9. Indecision: The Old Grey Whistle Test 04/03/1980

Format: 2CD/1DVD Album
BarCode: 5013929182530
Catalogue Number: CDTRED 825
Label: Cherry Red Records
Release Date:  Friday, 11th December 2020

Earn 0 reward points
£0.00 £22.00
Out Of Stock
Add To Wishlist