Rusty Egan - Blitzed! - (4LP Vinyl Boxset) - pre-order [2024-06-28]


0 remaining

Rusty Egan - Blitzed! - (4LP Vinyl Boxset)

London, 1979. From the rubble and ashes of punk a new youth cult was emerging. Divinely inspired by Bowie, Roxy Music and Kraftwerk, a new tribe the press started labelling New Romantics, or Futurists, discarded punk’s old hat claims towards authenticity and protest, in pursuit of glamour, make up, dressing up and dancing. Their home was The Blitz Club, a tiny wine bar at the edge of Covent Garden and what went on there between 1979 and 1980 would genuinely change the world. The other name for this cult? Blitz Kids.

Without necessarily knowing it, The Blitz was birthing the next wave of British pop stars. A young Boy George ran the cloakroom, its host and doorman was a young Steve Strange, soon to be the frontman of Visage, Spandau Ballet played their first gig there and on a given night you might find yourself dancing next to a member of Ultravox . Fashion designers in Regency ballgowns mingled with secretaries in rubber, post boys dressed as Biggles danced next to art school kids dressed as Pierrot. David Bowie assembled his extras for the ‘Ashes To Ashes’ video from the Blitz kids. Mick Jagger was refused entry. Too square.

And the club had a mighty soundtrack, assembled painstakingly by its resident DJ Rusty Egan. Rusty’s sets brought together heroes like Eno, Iggy, and Lou Reed cool European electronic pioneers like Kraftwerk, Telex and Yello , the electronic side of disco Cerrone , Hot Chocolate, Amanda Lear) and cutting edge film soundtracks from the likes of Vangelis, Giorgio Moroder and Barry De Vorzon . Rusty also span the nascent sounds of Britian’s next new wave Japan, Landscape, the Human League, Visage, Ultravox , Fad Gadget…

Compiled exhaustively from his DJ sets, ‘Rusty Egan Presents The Blitz’ brings together the sounds of a night at the club circa 1980 on either 66 track 4CD or 36 track 4LP sets. Beautifully presented with contemporary photography from Sheila Rock, Peter Ashworth and Terry Smith, the booklets also contain sleeve notes from Alexis Petridis and Rusty himself.

"Rusty Egan - Blitzed!" is out Friday, 28th June 2024 on Demon Records and available for pre-order now.

NB: All products ordered with a pre-order will be dispatched together close to the latest pre-order release date. If you want earlier dispatched for another product then please place separate order(s).


LP One Side A

  1. The Human League / Being Boiled (Fast Product Version)
  2. Tubeway Army / Down In The Park
  3. Fad Gadget / Back To Nature
  4. Vice Versa / New Girls Neutrons
  5. Throbbing Gristle / Hot On The Heels Of Love

LP One Side B

  1. The Normal / Warm Leatherette
  2. Cabaret Voltaire / Nag Nag Nag
  3. John Foxx / Burning Car
  4. Orchestral Manoeuvres In The Dark / Electricity (Dindisc 1980 Version)
  5. Shock / R.E.R.B

LP Two Side A

  1. Ultravox! / Hiroshima Mon Amour
  2. Magazine / Permafrost
  3. Hot Chocolate / Put Your Love In Me
  4. Visage / Moon Over Moscow

LP Two Side B

  1. Sparks / The Number One Song In Heaven (Long Version)
  2. The Glitter Band / Makes You Blind
  3. The Regents / 7 Teen
  4. Roxy Music / Angel Eyes (Extended Remix)

LP Three Side A

  1. The Men / I Don’t Depend On You
  2. Barry De Vorzon / Theme From ‘The Warriors’
  3. Rinder And Lewis / Willie And The Hand Jive (12” Version)
  4. Grace Jones / La Vie En Rose

LP Three Side B

  1. Kraftwerk / Schaufensterpuppen
  2. Ultravox / Passing Strangers
  3. Iggy Pop / Nightclubbing
  4. Gina X Performance / No G.D.M.

LP Four Side A

  1. Mick Ronson / Only After Dark
  2. Simple Minds / Changeling
  3. Skids / Animation (Edit)
  4. Japan / Life in Tokyo (1979 Single Version)
  5. Amanda Lear / Follow Me
  6. Spandau Ballet / To Cut A Long Story Short

LP Five Side B

  1. Yello / Bostich (album version)
  2. Giorgio Moroder / Chase (From ‘Midnight Express’ Soundtrack)
  3. Visage / Fade To Grey (1980 Dance Mix)
  4. Lou Reed / Perfect Day

Format: 4LP Vinyl Boxset
Barcode: 5014797911208
Catalogue Number: DEMRECBOX92
Label: Demon Records
Release Date: Friday, 28th June 2024

Earn 0 reward points
$0.00 $69.92
Out Of Stock
Add To Wishlist