Rusty Egan - Blitzed! - (4CD Deluxe Boxset) - pre-order [2024-06-28]



Rusty Egan - Blitzed! - (4CD Deluxe Boxset)

London, 1979. From the rubble and ashes of punk a new youth cult was emerging. Divinely inspired by Bowie, Roxy Music and Kraftwerk, a new tribe the press started labelling New Romantics, or Futurists, discarded punk’s old hat claims towards authenticity and protest, in pursuit of glamour, make up, dressing up and dancing. Their home was The Blitz Club, a tiny wine bar at the edge of Covent Garden and what went on there between 1979 and 1980 would genuinely change the world. The other name for this cult? Blitz Kids.

Without necessarily knowing it, The Blitz was birthing the next wave of British pop stars. A young Boy George ran the cloakroom, its host and doorman was a young Steve Strange, soon to be the frontman of Visage, Spandau Ballet played their first gig there and on a given night you might find yourself dancing next to a member of Ultravox . Fashion designers in Regency ballgowns mingled with secretaries in rubber, post boys dressed as Biggles danced next to art school kids dressed as Pierrot. David Bowie assembled his extras for the ‘Ashes To Ashes’ video from the Blitz kids. Mick Jagger was refused entry. Too square.

And the club had a mighty soundtrack, assembled painstakingly by its resident DJ Rusty Egan. Rusty’s sets brought together heroes like Eno, Iggy, and Lou Reed cool European electronic pioneers like Kraftwerk, Telex and Yello , the electronic side of disco Cerrone , Hot Chocolate, Amanda Lear) and cutting edge film soundtracks from the likes of Vangelis, Giorgio Moroder and Barry De Vorzon . Rusty also span the nascent sounds of Britian’s next new wave Japan, Landscape, the Human League, Visage, Ultravox , Fad Gadget…

Compiled exhaustively from his DJ sets, ‘Rusty Egan Presents The Blitz’ brings together the sounds of a night at the club circa 1980 on either 66 track 4CD or 36 track 4LP sets. Beautifully presented with contemporary photography from Sheila Rock, Peter Ashworth and Terry Smith, the booklets also contain sleeve notes from Alexis Petridis and Rusty himself.

"Rusty Egan - Blitzed!" is out Friday, 28th June 2024 on Demon Records and available for pre-order now.

NB: All products ordered with a pre-order will be dispatched together close to the latest pre-order release date. If you want earlier dispatched for another product then please place separate order(s).


CD One

  1. The Human League / Being Boiled (Fast Product version)
  2. TubewayArmy / Down In The Park
  3. Magazine / Permafrost
  4. Vice Versa / New Girls Neutrons
  5. Fad Gadget / Back To Nature
  6. Pretenders / Private Life
  7. Iggy Pop / Nightclubbing
  8. The Normal / Warm Leatherette
  9. Throbbing Gristle / Hot On The Heels Of Love
  10. Thomas Leer & Robert Rental / Day Breaks, Night Heals
  11. Shock / R.E.R.B.
  12. The Glitter Band / Makes You Blind
  13. John Foxx / Burning Car
  14. Yello/ Bostich(album version)
  15. Dalek I / Dalek I Love You (Destiny
  16. Cowboys International / Thrash
  17. Joy Division / Shadowplay
  18. Cabaret Voltaire / Nag Nag Nag
  19. Ultravox! / Hiroshima Mon Amour

CD Two

  1. Sparks / The Number One Song In Heaven (Long Version)
  2. Orchestral Manoeuvres In The Dark / Electricity (Dindisc1980 Version)
  3. Ultravox/ Passing Strangers
  4. Kraftwerk / Radioactivity (Edit)
  5. Lulu / The Man Who Sold The World
  6. Jeff Wayne / The Eve Of The War (Disco Re-Mix)
  7. Don Armando’s 2nd Avenue Rhumba Band / I’m An Indian Too
  8. Japan / Life in Tokyo (1979 Single Version)
  9. Blondie / Heart Of Glass (12” Version)
  10. Amanda Lear / Follow Me
  11. Wolfgang Riechmann/ Wunderbar
  12. Eno -Moebius -Roedelius/ Broken Head
  13. M / Pop Muzik (12” Version)
  14. Barry De Vorzon/ Theme From ‘The Warriors’
  15. Roxy Music / Angel Eyes (Extended Remix)
  16. Suicide / Dream Baby Dream (Long Version)

CD Three

  1. Grace Jones / La Vie En Rose
  2. Throbbing Gristle / Hamburger Lady
  3. The Walker Brothers / No Regrets
  4. Hot Chocolate / Put Your Love In Me
  5. The Men / I Don’t Depend On You
  6. Metro / Criminal World
  7. Billy Cobham / Spanish Moss –A Sound Portrait: Storm
  8. Cerrone / Supernature (12” Full Length Version)
  9. Garçons / French Boy
  10. Lori and The Chameleons / Touch
  11. Visage / Moon Over Moscow
  12. Kraftwerk / Schaufensterpuppen
  13. Mick Ronson / Only After Dark
  14. Landscape / Japan
  15. La Düsseldorf / Rheinita (Single Version)

CD Four

  1. The Cure / A Forest (12” version)
  2. The Regents / 7 Teen
  3. Zaine Griff / Ashes And Diamonds
  4. Spandau Ballet / To Cut A Long Story Short
  5. Telex / Moskow Diskow
  6. Taxi-Girl / Mannequin
  7. Silicon Teens / Memphis Tennessee
  8. The Slits / I Heard It Through The Grapevine
  9. Simple Minds / Changeling
  10. Skids / Animation (Edit)
  11. Giorgio Moroder / Chase (From ‘Midnight Express’ Soundtrack)
  12. Rinder And Lewis / Willie And The Hand Jive (12” Version)
  13. Visage / Fade To Grey (1980 Dance Mix)
  14. Gina X Performance / No G.D.M.
  15. Vangelis / Chung Kuo
  16. Lou Reed / Perfect Day

Format: 4CD Deluxe Boxset
Barcode: 740155738532
Catalogue Number: EDSL0185
Label: Demon Records
Release Date: Friday, 28th June 2024

Earn 0 reward points
$0.00 $50.85
Out Of Stock
Add To Wishlist