Pet Shop Boys - Elysium - (Further Listening 2CD Album)


In Stock

Pet Shop Boys - Elysium - (Further Listening 2CD Album)

Pet Shop Boys have released the second set of albums in their definitive 'Catalogue: 1985-2012' series of reissues of all their Parlophone studio albums. This second set sees the albums 'Yes' from 2009 and 'Elysium' from 2012 reissued with both titles have been remastered and are accompanied by 'Further listening' albums of master quality bonus tracks and demos created in the same period as each album, as well as Pet Shop Boys' own remixes of their tracks, including some previously unreleased material.

Both albums are packaged with an extensive booklet in which Neil Tennant and Chris Lowe discuss each song, illustrated with many archive photographs. The entire project is designed by Farrow.

'Elysium', originally released in 2012, was seen by some as a shift in sound and direction for Pet Shop Boys. Writing for the album began whilst PSB were on tour with Take That, with some tracks dating as far back as 2008.

The album was co-produced by PSB with Andrew Dawson, who engineered much of Kanye West's album '808s & Heartbreaks', a record which Neil Tennant had become 'mildly obsessed' with at the time. The darker lyrical themes of 'Elysium' are reflected in the record's sound. Neil Tennant said: 'It is deep in terms of the sound—got a lot of sub-bass—it's sort of deep in terms of subject matter, the way it's expressed. But I think it's the Pet Shop Boys' most beautiful album.'

The 'Further listening' album of additional material alongside this 'Elysium' reissue features previously unreleased demos entitled 'Vocal', 'She pops' and 'In slow motion', as well as PSB mixes and remixes of 'Leaving' and 'Memory of the future'.

CD1 Track Listing

  1. Leaving
  2. Invisible
  3. Winner
  4. Your early stuff
  5. A face like that
  6. Breathing space
  7. Ego music
  8. Hold on
  9. Give it a go
  10. Memory of the future
  11. Everything means something
  12. Requiem in denim and leopardskin

CD2 Track Listing

  1. Vocal (demo)*
  2. She pops (demo)*
  3. Inside
  4. In slow motion (demo)*
  5. Listening
  6. Hell
  7. The way through the woods (long version)
  8. I started a joke
  9. In his imagination
  10. Leaving (Believe in PSB mix)
  11. Leaving (Side by side remix)
  12. Leaving (Freedom remix)
  13. Memory of the future (New single mix)

* Previously unreleased

Format: 2CD album
Bar Code: 0190295852788
Label: Rhino
Release Date: 20th October 2017

Earn 0 reward points
£0.00 £14.00
Out Of Stock
Add To Wishlist