OMD - Bauhaus Staircase - (Limited Edition Cassette Album) - pre-order [2023-10-27]



OMD - Bauhaus Staircase - (Limited Edition Cassette Album)

Orchestral Manoeuvres In The Dark (OMD) return with their 14th studio album Bauhaus Staircase, over six years after the triumph of their Top 4-charting record The Punishment of Luxury. The album was born from the impetus to kickstart new explorations during lockdown when as Andy McCluskey admits: “I rediscovered the creative power of total boredom.”

The album’s first offering as a single is the title track which serves as a nod both to Andy McCluskey’s love of the Bauhaus era & the power of protest art. “I am a huge lover of visual arts especially mid 20th century movements” Andy comments. “The song is a metaphor for strength and artist passion in the face of criticism and adversity. When times are hard there is a tendency for Governments to look at cutting funding for creativity just at the moment when the arts are most needed to nourish our souls. It seems appropriate that the song and its eponymous album were created during Covid Lockdown.”

Ranging further from the beautiful film noir ballad of ‘Veruschka’ and the dance stylings of ‘Anthropocene’ - a term for the current epoch in Earth’s evolution to the sinister ‘Evolution Of Species’ and the hectic ‘Kleptocracy’ - OMD’s greatest straight-up protest song - the new album is a broad electronic sonic masterpiece that lyrically tackles the topics of the future. The record closes on ‘Healing’ - a moment of reflective calm.

By rights OMD should be in semi-retirement performing classics like Enola Gay and Maid Of Orleans on the nostalgia festival circuit like so many peers. Instead they’ve created a landmark album worthy of their finest work. Bauhaus Staircase remains unmistakably the work of a duo who are still perfectly in sync 45 years after their first gig at legendary Liverpool club Eric’s.

"OMD - Bauhaus Staircase" is out Friday, 27th October 2023 on 100 Percent and available for pre-order now.

NB: All products ordered with a pre-order will be dispatched together close to the latest pre-order release date. If you want earlier dispatched for another product then please place separate order(s).


  1. Bauhaus Staircase
  2. Anthropocene
  3. Look At You Now
  4. G.E.M.
  5. Where We Started
  6. Veruschka
  7. Slow Train
  8. Don't Go
  9. Kleptocracy
  10. Aphrodite's Favourite Child
  11. Evolution Of Species
  12. Healing

Format: Limited Edition Cassette Album
Barcode: 5060204805479
Catalogue Number: 100CASS138
Label: 100 Percent
Release Date: Friday, 27th October 2023

Earn 0 reward points
$0.00 $12.19
Out Of Stock
Add To Wishlist