Marc Almond - Things We Lost - (3CD Expanded Edition)


In Stock

Marc Almond - Things We Lost - (3CD Expanded Edition)

  • 3CD expanded edition of 'Things We Lost', a celebration of Marc Almond's 65th birthday year.
  • As the centrepiece of his 65th birthday celebrations, Marc has reconvened with award winning record producer Chris Braide (Sia, Hans Zimmer, Lana Del Ray, Beyoncé and Nicki Minaj) to create a concise and unforgettable suite of six ultra vivid story-telling songs for an all new mini-album 'Things We Lost'.
  • This audio gem is expanded on a 3CD set with the additional inclusion of the audio from the exclusive and acclaimed live concert performed at the Royal Festival Hall in 2020 with Chris Braide and featuring Ian Anderson (Jethro Tull); a celebration, too, of the wider Marc Almond and Chris Braide songwriting partnership.
  • The bonus 2-disc concert, 'Chaos And More' includes live versions of all the tracks from their recent collaboration, 'Chaos And A Dancing Star' album from 2020, as well as six tracks from their first collaboration in 2015, 'The Velvet Trail' album.

Disc One is the 'Things We Lost' studio mini-album which contains the highly emotive song 'Dead Stars', a tour de force lyrical evocation of the legendary status famous stars can attain once deceased. Just as deftly drawn is the songwriting genius of 'Wolf (Modern Life)' which distils an almost psychotic projection of self as prey to the enveloping forces of darkness. Evocative and emotive reflections on ageing and the passing of time; eulogies to the loss of lives fully lived are both omnipresent in the reflective power of the songs 'A Flowered Goodbye' and the searing title track. Feel good album opener, 'Golden Light', seems like a 'feel good', upbeat paean to love and joy. Seemingly, it elucidates a worthy aspiration to a carefree existence in the all too often elusive sunny uplands of happiness and lovers' togetherness... but then again, with deft mastery of the contrarian lyrical form, Marc Almond plants the idea that, perhaps, the 'Golden Light' isn't any of these things! 'Siren' continues the theme of the title track of Marc's first collaborative album with Chris Braide, 'The Velvet Trail' (2015).

Discs Two and Three contain the 'Chaos & More' 37 song live set which also includes some of Chris Braide's best known compositions. 'Unstoppable!' (Sia) and 'Kill And Run!' (for the film The Great Gatsby), an emotive stripped back piano and voice suite of cult songs from the Marc Almond and Soft Cell back catalogues as well cover versions paying tribute to Marc Almond and Chris Braide's unifying love of Marc Bolan; 'Children Of The Revolution!' and 'Change!'

CD1 Track Listing - Things We Lost

  1. A Golden Light
  2. Dead Stars
  3. Wolf (Modern Life)
  4. Siren
  5. A Flowered Goodbye
  6. Things We Lost

CD2 Track Listing - Chaos & More (Part One). Marc Almond & Chris Braide. Live At The Royal Festival Hall, 2020. featuring Ian Anderson

  1. Intro
  2. Black Sunrise
  3. When The Stars Are Gone
  4. Dust
  5. Dreaming Of Sea
  6. Hollywood Forever
  7. Chevrolet Corvette Stingray
  8. Cherry Tree
  9. Chaos
  10. Fighting A War
  11. Giallo
  12. Lord Of Misrule (featuring Ian Anderson)
  13. Witch's Promise (featuring Ian Anderson)
  14. Bedsitter (featuring Ian Anderson)
  15. Slow Burn Love
  16. The Crow's Eyes Have Turned Blue

CD3 Track Listing - Chaos & More (Part Two). Marc Almond & Chris Braide. Live At The Royal Festival Hall, 2020. featuring Ian Anderson

  1. Flames
  2. Skin Deep
  3. The Pain Of Never
  4. Scar
  5. Kill And Run (Chris Braide solo vocal)
  6. Unstoppable (featuring Ian Anderson)
  7. Torch
  8. Black Heart
  9. Little Rough Rhinestone
  10. Flowered Goodbye
  11. Winter Sun
  12. Change
  13. Where The Heart Is
  14. Embers
  15. Minotaur
  16. Zipped Black Leather Jacket
  17. A Kind Of Love
  18. Dandy In The Underworld
  19. Children Of The Revolution
  20. Tainted Love (featuring Ian Anderson)
  21. Say Hello, Wave Goodbye (featuring Ian Anderson)

Format: 3CD Expanded Edition
Barcode: 5013929850408
Catalogue Number: SFE094T
Label: Cherry Red Records
Release Date: Friday, 28th October 2022

Earn 0 reward points
$0.00 $26.70
Out Of Stock
Add To Wishlist