Jean-Michel Jarre - Planet Jarre - (2xCD Deluxe Edition) - pre-order [2018-09-14]


0 remaining

Jean-Michel Jarre - Planet Jarre - (2xCD Deluxe Edition)

With his upcoming best-of, PLANET JARRE , the Godfather of Electronic Music JEAN-MICHEL JARRE (JMJ) celebrates his 50 years at the forefront of electronic music with an extensive double album that will once more carburize his legacy in pop music history. Set for release September 14th, 2018 on SONY, PLANET JARRE  comprises 41 works from his extensive music catalogue, hand-picked by Jarre himself and completely re-mastered to add a new and sparkling freshness to the sound of the package. To top things off, the Vinyl Book and Ultimate Box Set both come with a download card to enter the world of Jean-Michel Jarre in 5.1. Always fascinated by the best possible sound and technology Jarre mastered some tracks in 5.1. for a unique listening experience.

 Comprising of four parts- Soundscapes, Themes, Sequences, Explorations & Early Works -PLANET JARRE  is unmistakably and utterly typically Jarre, highlighting a different creative focus of his work. Soundscapes  taps into Jarre's natural sense for acoustic aestheticism and atmospheric composition translated into nine soundscapes that clearly reference his background in classical music and his passion for motion picture scores. Long and familiar ambient tracks like “Oxygene 1,” “Equinoxe 2” and “Chronology 1” seamlessly follow newer pieces like the original title track of Electronica - The Heart of Noise. Themes   features indestructible, timeless melodies and song-like structures such as “Oxygene 2,” “Oxygene 4,” “Zoolookologie” and “Industrial Revolution Part 2” that will resonate with everyone familiar with his repertoire.

The nine tracks on Sequences  are all based on the repetitive and hypnotic sequences that only electronic instruments can create. With early works like “Arpeggiator” and “Revolutions” Jarre shaped the future of techno and EDM, paving the way for what is brought to almost organic completion. The selection also features newer works like “Stardust,” co-composed by Jarre and techno/trance producer Armin van Buuren, and two recently composed and previously unreleased tracks called “Coachella Opening” and “Herbalizer”.

One of the most intriguing features of Explorations & Early Works  is the previously unreleased demo recording of the mythical “Music For Supermarkets,” the only remaining testimony to the unique recording that was pressed on a solitary vinyl for auction. In an unparalleled display of criticism to the devaluation of music, comparing it to mass consumer goods on shelves rather than artistic creation, Jarre recorded and produced and entire album only to completely destroy the master tapes after the radio broadcast. For a long time, the only existing LP of the broadcast recording was considered the highest-trading vinyl copy on the planet. The track “Erosmachine” then takes us back to 1969 and the very early days of Jarre's creative period.

Released Friday, 14th September 2018 and available for pre-order now.

NB: All products ordered with a pre-order will be dispatched together close to the latest pre-order release date. If you want earlier dispatched for another product then please place separate order(s).

Jean-Michel Jarre - Planet Jarre - Soundscape

1.  Oxygene 1

2. Oxygene 19

3. Rendez-Vous 1

4. Millions Of Stars 

5. Chronology 1

6. Oxygene 20 

7. Equinoxe 2

8. Waiting For Cousteau

9. The Heart Of Noise ( Origin )

Jean-Michel Jarre - Planet Jarre - Themes 

1. Industrial Revolution Part 2 

2. Oxygene 4 

3. Equinoxe 5 

4. Oxygene 2 

5. Zoolookologie

6. Bells 

7. Equinoxe 4

8. Magnetic Field 2 

9. Rendez-Vous 2 ( Laser Harp )

10. Rendez-Vous 4 

11. Chronology 4

Jean-Michel Jarre - Planet Jarre - Sequences 

1.  Coachella Opening 

2. Arpeggiator

3. Automatic Part 1 With Vince Clarke 

4. Exit With Edward Snowden 

5. Equinoxe 7

6. Oxygene 8

7. Stardust With Armin Van Buuren 

8. Herbalizer 

9. Revolutions 

Jean-Michel Jarre - Planet Jarre - Explorations & Early Works 

1. Ethnicolor 

2. Souvenir Of China 

3. Blah Blah Café 

4. Music for Supermarkets ( Demo Excerpt )

5. Roseland / Le Pays De Rose 

6. La Cage 

7. Erosmachine 

8. Hypnose 

9. The Song Of The Burnt Barns / La Chanson Des Granges Brulees

10. Happiness Is A Sad Song 

11. Aor Bleu 

12. Last Rendez-Vous 

Format: 2xCD Deluxe Edition (Digipack)
Catalogue Number: 
Sony CMG
Release Date: 
14th September 2018

Earn 0 reward points
£0.00 £15.00
Out Of Stock
Add To Wishlist