Donna Summer - I'm A Rainbow: Recovered & Recoloured - (LP Blue Vinyl Album)


In Stock

Donna Summer - I'm A Rainbow: Recovered & Recoloured - (LP Blue Vinyl Album)

It’s September 1981 and it’s matter of weeks away from the release of ‘I’M A RAINBOW’ the second album Donna Summer had recorded for Geffen Records, which had also been produced by Giorgio Moroder and Pete Bellotte.

At the time that the album was being recorded, the musical landscape had changed and production techniques were developing further Geffen also wanted a more R&B influenced album, despite the album having a more R&B feel than ‘The Wanderer’ had done The songs and their lyrical content were very strong and Donna’s voice had never sounded better, which was always a tough comparison against previous albums.

A decision was taken by the label to withdraw ‘I’M A RAINBOW’ just prior to its release David Geffen then brought in Quincy Jones to produce the next new album 1982’s ‘Donna Summer’.

‘I’M A RAINBOW’ was eventually issued in 1996 as an 18 track CD, without the usual fanfare that heralded a ‘new’ Donna Summer album A few tracks were familiar to Donna and non Donna fans, as they had been released in the early 1980s; ‘Highway Runner’ Runner’(“Fast Times At Ridgemont High” OST) and ‘Romeo’ (“Flashdance” OST). “Flashdance” also included the ballad ‘Lady, Lady, Lady’ which was performed by original Brooklyn Dreams singer Joe “Bean” Esposito, who appears on the duet ‘I Believe (In You)’.

Fast forward 40 years and ‘I’M A RAINBOW’ receives a fresh coat of paint, giving credence to the songs’ great lyrics and compositions that they richly deserved at the time.

‘I’M A RAINBOW RECOVERED RECOLOURED’ has been slimmed down to a compact 10 track album and completely re-imagined by a host of international producers, from North AND South America, Europe and Scandinavia Junior Vasquez Le Flex Figo Sound Jean Tonique Ladies On Mars and Oliver Nelson who has just signed to Atlantic Records have all added their touch.

The album now has a thread running through it, with a sequence that sees the album open with the beautiful title track and builds throughout the album through soul and dance, ending with the high octane ‘girl power’ statement track, ‘Leave Me Alone [Ladies On Mars ‘ Remix]’.

The lead single, ‘I Believe (In You) [Figo Sound Version]’, is released 25th June and it starts the four month pre-release campaign, up until the album’s release.

This heavyweight 180g clear vinyl LP format, contains newly authored liner notes by noted US writer Christian John Wikane, with new interviews conducted with the Remix Producers Junior Vasquez, Le Flex, Figo Sound, Jean Tonique, Ladies On Mars and Oliver Nelson, as well as comments from Bruce Sudano, Pete Bellotte, Harold Faltermeyer, Sylvester Levay and Joe “Bean” Esposito.

Track Listing

Side One

  1. I'm A Rainbow [Junior’s Shiny Rainbow Edit
  2. I Believe (In You) (duet with Joe “Bean” Esposito) [Figo Sound Version]
  3. Back Where You Belong [Jean Tonique Remix
  4. You To Me [Oliver Nelson Remix]
  5. Don't Cry For Me Argentina [Ladies On Mars ‘Buenos Aires’ Remix]

Side Two

  1. Sweet Emotion [Le Flex Remix
  2. Brooklyn [Ladies On Mars ‘Child Of Rhythm’ Remix]
  3. Romeo [Ladies On Mars ‘Luv-NRG’ Remix]
  4. Highway Runner [Ladies On Mars ‘Street Race’ Remix]
  5. Leave Me Alone [Ladies On Mars ‘Independence’ Remix]

Format: 1LP Blue Vinyl 180g Album
Barcode: 654378626128
Catalogue Number: DDBTMLP209
Label: Demon Music
Release Date: Friday, 29th October 2021

Earn 0 reward points
£0.00 £20.00
Out Of Stock
Add To Wishlist