Cabaret Voltaire - Methodology '74 / '78 Attic Tapes - SIGNED - (7xLP Clear Vinyl BoxSet)


0 remaining

Cabaret Voltaire - Methodology '74 / '78 Attic Tapes - SIGNED - (7xLP Clear Vinyl BoxSet)

"METHODOLOGY '74-'78. Attic Tapes" vinyl box set charts the development of Cabaret Voltaire, starting from their early experimental period of '74/'75. Included on the release are the original recordings of classics such as 'Nag Nag Nag', 'No Escape', 'The Set Up', 'Baader Meinhof', 'Here She Comes Now' and 'Do The Mussolini (Headkick)', all later re-recorded with new equipment and released by Rough Trade in the late '70s.

Cabaret Voltaire were at the forefront of the UK Electronic Movement throughout the ‘70s. Initially a three piece, Richard H. Kirk, Stephen Mallinder and Chris Watson began by playing around with recorded sounds manipulated by basic reel-to-reel tape recorders in Sheffield in 1973. Way ahead of their time, these ideas cumulated in 1975, when the three staged their first performance of these sound experiments and assumed the name Cabaret Voltaire, taken from the name of the club started in Zürich by the principals of the Dada art movement during the First World War. As part of the confrontational energy of punk, and inspired by the Dada and Situationist art movements, these early recordings have lost none of their power in the intervening years, especially when the relatively primitive equipment used at that time is considered.

"METHODOLOGY '74-'78. Attic Tapes" is an invaluable insight into how the band evolved prior to and during the punk explosion, and how the music gradually took on a more structured and rhythmic form.

Includes a signed art print, limited to 500 copies and includes a high definition audio download.

7xLP Tracklisting

  1. Exhaust
  2. Synthi AKS (Piece One)
  3. Synthi AKS (Piece Two)
  4. Jet Passing Over
  5. Sad Synth
  6. Treated Guitar
  7. Treated Clarinet
  8. Treated Drum Machine
  9. Possibility Of A Bum Trip
  10. Space Patrol
  11. Jack Stereo Unit
  12. Magnet
  13. Counter Reaction
  14. Capsules (Version)
  15. Makes Your Mouth Go Funny
  16. Dream Sequence Number Three (Short Version)
  17. Reverse (Piece One)
  18. Stolen From Spectra
  19. Shes Black (Part One)
  20. Jive
  21. The Single
  22. Speed Kills
  23. Fascist Police State
  24. Synthi AKS (Piece Three)
  25. Data Processing Instructions
  26. Fuse Mountain
  27. Calling Moscow
  28. Dream Sequence Number Two (Ethel's Voice)
  29. The Attic Tapes
  30. Treated Speech
  31. Dream Sequence Number Three (Long Version)
  32. Henderson Reversed (Piece Two)
  33. Bed Time Stories
  34. Loves In Vein
  35. Do The Mussolini (Head Kick) (They Kill Him Dub)
  36. Shes Black (Part Two)
  37. Its Not Music
  38. Slo Change
  39. Original Voice Of America
  40. Heaven And Hell
  41. Do The Mussolini (Head Kick)
  42. Here She Comes Now
  43. Capsules
  44. Oh Roger
  45. Havoc
  46. Talkover
  47. No Escape
  48. Photophobia
  49. The Set Up
  50. A Minute Is A Life Time
  51. Baader Meinhof
  52. Nag Nag Nag
  53. Its About Now

Format: 7xLP Signed Clear Vinyl BoxSet + Download
Bar Code 5400863013202
Catalogue Number CABS17
Label: Mute
Release Date: Friday, 6th December 2019

Earn 0 reward points
£0.00 £100.00
Out Of Stock
Add To Wishlist