A Certain Ratio - acr:box - (4xCD Boxset)

Play Music


0 remaining

A Certain Ratio - acr:box - (4xCD Boxset)

A Certain Ratio celebrate their 40th anniversary this year and have shared details of a new box set, acr:box, out on Mute on 3 May 2019. acr:box launches with a brand new acoustic version of "Won't Stop Loving You" (AKA The Big E) here titled "W.S.L.U.", a recent collaboration with Parent's Sarah Brandwood-Spencer (string arrangement) and Jason Brown (additional guitars).

acr:box was remastered by Martin Moscrop at Abbey Road studios and Features over 20 unreleased tracks. Following on from 2018's compilation, acr:set, the box showcases the diversity of the singles, B-sides and alternative versions of tracks that A Certain Ratio have released, but without repeating tracks recently made available. acr:box collates everything that fans had been missing from the recent reissue campaign, and compliments that with a selection found after a deep delve into the archive to find all the hidden gems that had been talked about over the years, but never heard – even a few releases the band had forgotten about!

Looking to make the box set as comprehensive as possible, even the original tapes from the session they recorded for a collaboration with Grace Jones were uncovered and reworked. This session includes the cover version of Talking Heads' "Houses In Motion", using Jez Kerr's guide vocals (pre to him becoming the band's singer). Grace Jones never completed her vocal take, after attending one of the recording sessions with the band.

Singles and b-sides

  1. All Night Party
  2. The Thin Boys
  3. Blown Away
  4. Son And Heir
  5. Waterline
  6. Funaezekea
  7. Abracadubra
  8. Sommadub
  9. Guess Who? (12" version)
  10. Tumba Rumba
  11. Knife Slits Water (12" version)
  12. Kether Hot Knives (Mix In Special)
  13. I Need Someone Tonight
  14. Don't You Worry 'Bout a Thing
  15. Life's a Scream
  16. There's Only This
  17. Si Fermir O Grido (Touch Cassette Version)
  18. Brazilia 6.10
  19. Sounds Like Something Dirty
  20. The Runner (Greetings Four Version)
  21. Inside (Greetings Four Version)
  22. Bootsy (Greetings Four Version)
  23. Fever 103 (Greetings Four Version)
  24. Loosen Up Your Mind
  25. The Planet
  26. 27 Forever (Jon Dasilva's Testimonial Mix)
  27. Turn Me On (7" Edit)
  28. Shack up (Electronic Radio Edit)


  1. Houses In Motion (Demo Version 1)
  2. Houses In Motion (Demo Version 2)
  3. And Then Again (Another Version)
  4. Piu Lento (John Peel Session)
  5. Nostromo A Go Go (Demo)
  6. Force (Demo)
  7. Backs to The Wall (Demo)
  8. The Big E (Demo)
  9. Every Pleasure (Demo)
  10. Rivers Edge (Demo)
  11. Stadium (Demo)
  12. Thin Grey Line (Demo)
  13. Repercussions (African Mix)
  14. BTTW 90 (Demo)
  15. Spirit Dance (Demo)
  16. Bitter Pill (Never Released)
  17. Can You Dance (Never Released)
  18. Mello (JD 800 Perc Mix)
  19. Tekno 4 an Answer (120bpm)
  20. Samba 123 (Demo)
  21. Some Day (ACR rework)
  22. Happy Meal (Working Title)
  23. Flight Won't Stop (Unfinished Demo)
  24. Fruit Song (Unfinished Demo)
  25. Say What You Mean (Unfinished Demo)
  26. W.S.L.U.

Format: 4xCD Boxset
BarCode: 5413356001075
Catalogue Number: ACRBOX1CD
Label: Mute
Release Date: Friday, 3rd May 2019

Earn 0 reward points
£0.00 £25.00
Out Of Stock
Add To Wishlist